seek Him, and He will be found

Sometimes it's easy to see where you should go.

Do you have those times when God has some specific verses to you, that He keeps giving and showing to you? That one specific verse or verses that keep coming up in your devotions, that your family and friends give you, that you come across while in the internet or reading a book? I love those times when it seems like the Lord is really intent on me getting these verses, that they are something He wants to speak into my heart and into my life, and He keeps reminding me of the verses until I know them by heart – because that is where I need to know them, in my heart.

Jeremiah 29:11-14 is one of those for me right now. This is a passage that has been dear to me for many years already, which is why I love it even more that God uses these verses to speak comfort and hope into my life right now.

“For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, says the Lord, thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you a future and a hope. Then you will call upon Me and go and pray to Me, and I will listen to you. And you will seek Me and find Me, when you search for Me with all your heart. I will be found by you, says the Lord, and I will bring you back from your captivity; I will gather you from all the nations and from all the places where I have driven you, says the Lord, and I will bring you to the place from which I cause you to be carried away captive.” (Jeremiah 29:11-14)

The Lord promises us, “I will be found by you.” These verses have been such comforting verses for me for a long time because of the promises they hold, all of them great and speaking into my life at all times. That when I go and pray to the Lord, He will listen. That when I call upon Him, pray to Him, seek Him — I can find Him, and He will be there to listen to whatever I am bringing Him. Not only will God listen to whatever I bring Him, but He wants me to bring everything to Him – to search for Him with all my heart, and to come to Him with all my heart.

The thoughts God thinks towards me are thoughts of peace, to give me a future and a hope. So when I go to the Lord and bring Him all my heart, all that I am – I can find Him, and He will listen to me, and He wants only good for me, to give me a future and a hope whatever situation I am in at the moment.

But this isn’t where it all ends, and this is why it’s all the more beautiful. Not only can I find God, but He will bring me back from my captivity. The things that are holding me back – my fears, failures, disappointments, broken dreams, hurts. God will bring me back from my captivity. No matter what state my heart is in, no matter how far I have wandered off, no matter where I have gone hiding from whatever is difficult or painful or messy or impossible – God will bring me back to Him. And in Him, all is safe. In Him, I am safe.

“God is our refuge and strength, a very present help in trouble.” (Psalm 46:1)

5 thoughts on “seek Him, and He will be found

  1. I love it when God draws us to specific verses like that. Those have been some favorites of mine for a long time and were actually the life verses we used when we had my first son dedicated. Blessings to you as you continue to seek God daily. There is so much of Him to be found!

    Like

    1. Ronja

      Thank you for stopping by, Abby! I love that no matter how much time I spend seeking God, there will always be more and more to be found!

      Like

  2. stoopingformanna

    Praise God that He is in the business of emancipation! This is beautifully written and so very encouraging. Thank you for sharing! Loved it!

    Like

  3. Chris Malkemes

    AWESOME! Some translations say He has plans for us, but when I think about Him thinking of us I am overwhelmed and humbled. He wants us to know Him and know His word. You have written a heartfelt lesson. thank you. you are gifted.

    Like

Leave a Reply

