it is okay to rest today

This is life

“Come to Me, all you who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take My yoke upon you and learn from Me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For My yoke is easy and My burden is light.” (Matthew 11:28-30)

Does the weight of this world feel too much for you to carry today? Maybe life is offering you more than you think you are able to handle. Maybe you lost your way and now you feel trapped in confusion and shame. Maybe you are going through a world of hurt and there is no hope in sight. Maybe this trial is robbing the air out of your lungs and you are there, trying so desperately to discover how to breathe again.

I know how you feel. I know. More importantly, the Lord knows how you feel. He is calling you today to come and find rest for your soul. It is okay to rest today.

It is not easy to live in this fallen world falling apart — but we were never promised that it would be easy. We are promised that He would always be with us. If I can be honest here, I would rather go through hurt and suffering with Him by my side than live an easy life without Him. And I think you would too. The Lord is waiting for us to turn to Him, to fix our eyes upon Him so that He can give us rest. His yoke is easy and His burden is light because He will be there to bear it with us.

“The Lord is my strength and my shield; my heart trusted in Him, and I am helped; therefore my heart greatly rejoices, and with my song I will praise Him.” (Psalm 28:7)

So hear me now — it is okay to rest today. I know it seems like everyone else can handle this life, that they have this strength and endurance in them while you can barely make it through the morning, let alone the whole day. I know it seems like you should be able to do more, to be more. Please, do not let that pressure drown you. Rather, still for a moment and hear the Lord calling for you to come, to come and find rest for your soul. Hear Him tell you, it is okay to rest today.

That fragile heart, that weary soul of yours? They were created by God. He saw you before you were born; He knew the days of your life. God, He searches our hearts and He knows us. He knows the burdens, hardships, and hurts. He knows the rebellion and confusion lingering in our hearts. He knows when weariness takes over and we cannot manage one more step on our own. God sees it all, but He does not reject us. No, the Lord calls us to come to Him. In the midst of this life, we can find rest in Him.

It is okay to rest today.

“Your eyes saw my substance, being yet unformed. And in Your book they all were written, the days fashioned for me, when as yet there were none of them. How precious also are Your thoughts to me, O God! How great is the sum of them!” (Psalm 139:16-17)

Do not let the world fool you, though. When we think of rest, we think of sleeping or maybe sitting down to watch something. Sleep is good, sleep is so good for the weary soul. But rest that endures — it can only be found in Christ. You see, the world can rob us of our sleep but it cannot rob us of our Savior. Jesus is our Peace, and it is only in Him that we find the rest that our soul craves for.

The Lord is our strength, and He will strengthen you. So go to Him, ask Him for strength and know that He is the strength that you need. Whatever you face today, whatever mountains or valleys, whatever storms or oceans ahead of you — His strength is your strength, and He is greater. Go to God, and find that rest for your soul. Still before Him, and let Him strengthen you.

It is okay to rest in Him today.

Linking up: Fellowship FridaysEssential FridaysFaith and Fellowship Blog HopFaith Filled Friday

9 thoughts on “it is okay to rest today

  1. Yes! It is OK to rest today. May we embrace this as it is in the rest where we find ourselves restored & equipped to do the next task. So grateful to have stopped here from Fellowship Friday. Blessings!

    Like

Leave a Reply

