God with us

Mushroom foraging

“Behold, the virgin shall be with child, and bear a Son, and they shall call His name Immanuel,” which is translated, “God with us.” (Matthew 1:23)

Maybe it is because the Thanksgiving and Christmas season is slowly and unavoidably coming closer. Maybe it is because I am trying to make it through this busy second year of university while learning what it means to be a speech-language therapist (pathologist for you who live in the US) with my first client. Maybe it is because in my weakness, He is strong; in my weariness and difficult days, He is the safe refuge.

These days, I am thinking about Jesus and yes, more often than not it is leaning on His grace and strength, trusting Him to carry me through. But I am there once again, this place that I have spent a lot of time before. I am thinking about this name — Emmanuel. God with us.

“My flesh and my heart fail; but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever.” (Psalm 73:26)

There is also this that I am asking myself these days. What does it mean to me, that God is with me? What does it mean to you?

It truly is such an amazing grace of our Almighty God — that one name, it can change everything. This is love pouring over us; this is grace washing us white. He is God with us, and it is a sure promise and truth. We may not see Him working in and through us at times. Sometimes we do not feel His touch on our lives, on our hearts. Yet His love is constant and unfailing, His mercy and grace are enough for every day. He is here.

He is our refuge when we are weary; our strength when we are weak. He is our safe place when we are broken; He is our healer when we are wounded and hurt. He is our peace when the world is shaking; He is light in the darkness around us.

“Trust in Him at all times, you people; pour out your heart before Him; God is a refuge for us.” (Psalm 62:8)

Where are you today, my friend? Weary and troubled? He is with you. Broken and barely holding on? He is with you. Waiting for something, for change or something better? He is with you. Tired, of trying to make it through? Searching for a purpose or completely lost? Rejected, alone, hurting, confused? He is with you. He is with you.

So pour out your heart before Him. Tell Him where you are right now, what you are feeling — and pray for a heart that is open to see His answer, to hear His voice. Because see, dear one — He is the One who died on the cross to be with you. The cross, it changes everything and we have been given countless second chances at the cross. So you can put away the need to hide, the need to make all that is messy somehow pretty. He is here with you, because that is who He is. You cannot change that.

“Oh, taste and see that the Lord is good; blessed is the man who trusts in Him!” (Psalm 34:8)

Whatever you are going through, wherever you are today — He is here. No matter the mess you have made or the weariness that does not seem to let goNo matter what waves are pushing you under or what darkness is seeping in and taking over. You are not alone. He is here, Emmanuel. He is here, waiting for you to turn to Him, waiting for you to come and see that He is good.

Linking up: Coffee for Your Heart, Thriving Thursday, Hearts 4 Home, A Wise Woman Builds Her Home, Everyday Jesus, Hearts for Home, Grace at Home, Faith Filled Friday, Faith and Fellowship, Essential Fridays

12 thoughts on “God with us

  1. There is such comfort in the truth that He is always with us. It’s what got me through ten months without my husband while He was deployed. What comfort to know the God with me is the same one who was with my husband on the other end of the world. So blessed to be stopping by from Sharita’s today. Blessings to you.

    Like

    1. Ronja

      Beth, what a great and powerful example that is of trusting in the truth that He is always with us! There really is so much comfort and hope in knowing that the Lord is with us, that He is with His people and He is in control. If only I would remember that all the time! What a blessing it is to have you stop by here, Beth! Blessings!

      Like

    1. Ronja

      I love how there are so many verses in the Psalms that talk about the Lord as our refuge and that tie in so well with this message here! Thank you for your sweet encouragement, Sharita! It is always such a blessing to have you here!

      Like

    1. Ronja

      Susannah, it amazes me every single day that He is here, walking this journey with me every single day! The Lord truly is so, so good to us! Thank you for stopping by here!

      Like

  2. I will have to finish reading this tomorrow unless I can get it read before bedtime, but so far it’s great how you tied in all the darkness we are pushing thru and the power we have as near as our Bible. It always makes me wonder what kind of life our friends and strangers have with out anything to hope in, no one to reach out to when there seems to be no hope. I have some in my family that don’t believe and are angry with me because I have brought several times, mostly now I am leaving it in God hands and praying that he might touch them and that they might teach them about Jesus. A 3 year old little boy that’s Mother and my son will throw away anything that is about God or religion. My daughter’s children are all Christian thank the Lord! Thank you for the subject you wrote about.

    Like

  3. Pingback: to you who are tired of trying – Abounding Grace

Leave a Reply

