walking with grief and loss

this + snow falling = soothes my soul. Last week, Grandpa passed away and now we are learning how to walk with grief and loss once again. To be honest, I am not sure how to come here feeling this frazzled, not exactly sure what to say because how do you ever put grief into words? How do you describe something lost when you know that someone dear to you walks with a greater loss? How do you compare a great loss to those smaller ones that happen every single day? How do you ever measure just how much you have lost of your heart walking in this fallen world?

I know not the answer, and I have been asking “how?” — a lot.

So He said, “Come.” And when Peter had come down out of the boat, he walked on the water to go to Jesus. But when he saw that the wind was boisterous, he was afraid; and beginning to sink he cried out, saying, “Lord, save me!” (Matthew 14:29-30)

But I wonder, if walking with grief and loss is just like any other day walking with Jesus. We will undoubtedly face loss in this life — the loss of our loved ones, of certain relationships, of jobs, of important places. Grief will certainly accompany us through the years, in a form or another. These two, no matter how great the grief or the loss feels, they come like a storm — surprising us, even when we knew to expect them.

The thing about these storms is, they are never easy. The waves push us under the surface and we start to sink; the wind is boisterous and throws us around. Though we might have set out with our eyes fixed on Jesus, following His call to come. The storms of this life tend to hold most of our attention and fear creeps in. But we can take comfort in knowing that Peter was right there with us, crying out to the Lord to save him. We are not alone in this one.

And immediately Jesus stretched out His hand and caught him, and said to him, “O you of little faith, why did you doubt?” (Matthew 14:31)

Yes, like Peter, we get so afraid when we are walking the road unknown to us, carrying grief, loss, and hurt with us. But this we know — that when the storm rages and the waves push us down under, we can still forsake our fears. Because when we call out to Him, Jesus will immediately stretch out His hand and catch us.

No matter how great the raging storm. No matter how hard the winds blow. No matter how long the journey ahead of you. No matter how afraid you are. Jesus will be there, right beside you and ready to stretch out His hand to catch you. And He will always, always, catch you.

Linking up: Fellowship Fridays, Faith and Fellowship, Faith Filled Friday, Monday’s Musings, Sharing His Beauty, Titus 2 Tuesday, Titus 2sday, Tell His Story, Coffee for Your Heart, Works for Me Wednesday, Coffee and Conversation, Wednesday’s Prayer Girls, Growing in Grace, Everyday Jesus, Word Filled Wednesday

28 thoughts on “walking with grief and loss

  1. I’m so sorry for your loss. I have a recurrent thread through my blog of occasional posts about this topic, including one I actually linked up to on Fellowship Friday today about my mom and something tangible that helps me feel connected to her even now that she’s moved on. Grief comes in waves, and no one grieves in the same way. Thanks for sharing. I know how hard it is.

    Like

  2. Sharon

    I so understand what you’re talking about. It’s just been a year since I lost my dad, and it still hurts. So I sympathize with the loss of your grandfather, and I give you my sincerest condolences.

    I also reflected this week on the scene with Jesus and Peter. And talked about the storms, and about wondering sometimes why we aren’t spared. But, like you said, the sure Presence of the Lord – The Answer to all our questioning – is the only thing that stills my fearful and overwrought heart.

    Thank you for once again reminding me of the strong Truth of this.

    (I’m your neighbor over at Sharing His Beauty today).

    Like

    1. Ronja

      Sharon, thank you so much for all of this! I loved your post and how well it spoke into my heart. You are so right, being reminded that Jesus is here with us is the One Thing that will always calm our fears and worries and bring comfort to the midst of sorrow. He is so good to us, always.

      Like

  3. So sorry to hear of your recent loss! I just heard a talk on the storms of life at a Women’s Conference this past weekend. It was based on one of Paul’s shipwrecks in Acts 27. One of the most comforting statements came from this sentence somewhere around or after vs. 18, “Neither sun nor stars appeared for many days.” That doesn’t sound comforting in itself, but the speaker used it to remind us that the darkness will not last forever! There will be a day….
    Thanks for sharing this with us at the Grace and Truth link-up last Friday.
    Asking the God of all comfort to pour out His unfailing love to you in the midst of your grief,
    Jen :)

    Like

    1. Ronja

      Thank you so much, Jen! That verse is definitely a comforting one as it speaks to my heart and to my life so well right now. The storms of life can be so hard at times but that is so true, the darkness won’t last forever and eventually the light will come through. Thank you so much for sharing this with me!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Ronja

      Thank you so much for your kind and comforting words, Linda. So thankful that the Lord walks with us every step of the way, no matter what we are facing in life. He is truly so good to us! Blessing to you, Linda!

      Like

    1. Ronja

      Thank you for your kind words, Carrie. I have lost all of my grandparents now as well, and it is quite a loss! So thankful that Jesus will always be there for us, to comfort us and give peace. God bless you!

      Like

  4. I know well the pain of losing a beloved grandparent. I’ve come to learn that time doesn’t heal all wounds; it just teaches us how to deal with them. I’m thankful for a God who promises to walk with us through every step of life’s storms. Thank you for sharing this at Grace & Truth!

    Like

    1. Ronja

      You are so right, Jennifer. Time doesn’t heal all wounds — only God can, and it might not happen in this lifetime. He is so good to us, though, in teaching us how to deal with whatever life brings to us and walking with us all the way. Thank you for your visit, Jennifer! Blessings!

      Like

  5. Oh Ronja… Sorry about the loss of your grandpa! So hard. Praying that you feel God’s hand as you walk on the water in this time of storm and grief. Thanks for your vulnerability here– you are doing a great Kingdom work.

    Like

    1. Ronja

      Thank you so much for your sweet words and your prayers, Sharita. Knowing that He is there for me and with me at all times definitely carries me through the hard times. :)

      Like

  6. Susan B Mead

    Oh my heart breaks for your loss. I can’t begin to imagine your loss, sweet Ronja.

    Yet I too have walked the path of grief. And moved to a place of grace. May the gracious hand of God hold yours as He walks with you down this path. To comfort you, to hold you, to guide you. Most importantly, to love you.
    Susan

    Like

    1. Ronja

      Susan, thank you so much for your sweetness and kind words! The path of grief seems to be a long one but thank you so much for reminding me that there is a place of grace waiting, too. It is a wonderful thought that even though we lose something, we can still gain something as well — more of Him.

      What a blessing it is to have to here, Susan! God bless you!

      Like

Leave a Reply

