life lately, part 1

Hello, friends! Long time no see. I made it to New Zealand and to the Bible College, after days of traveling (seriously, it takes 40 hours of traveling to get to New Zealand from Finland). It has been only a few days now, but New Zealand is incredibly beautiful. The Bible School itself is located on a ranch, so there are cows feeding and horses skipping up the hills on the backyard. There is a beautiful lake only a short walk away, making it the perfect spot to go and let your soul relax.

But for now, I am still settling in and trying to take in all the beautiful nature and great people that are here. So now, here are a few bits of y life shared with you.

Lake Tarawera

Reading now: And the Shofar Blew by Francine Rivers. I love everything that I have read from Francine Rivers and so I bought a few of her books at Christmas with a gift card that I got. And the Shofar Blew tells the story of a dying church that brings in a new pastor. The church starts growing and yet, not all is right with the pastor or the way the church grows. So far, it has been a good, challenging read and I am enjoying the book.

Reading next: Hinds Feet on High Places by Hannah Hurnard. We have a women’s class on the book of James this semester, and we will be reading Hinds Feet on High Places alongside the class. Once I finish with And the Shofar Blew, I will be moving on to Sons of Encouragement, another book from Francine Rivers that I have been wanting to read for a long time.

EnjoyingThe beautiful weather in New Zealand. We had such a cold January (-27 Celsius at best) in Finland, with plenty of snow — so summer and the hot blazing sun is something very different. But the nature here is absolutely beautiful and I cannot get enough of the scenery, it is so incredibly beautiful. I am truly blessed.

Listening: to the life stories of people, the many ways God has worked in their life and in them. It always is a blessing to hear people’s testimonies, as our God works in so many different ways. To be honest, sometimes life feels so small and our souls shrink under the weight of the small life pressured to grow big — but then, these moments come when you realize that it is never about your life but all of it together, these pieces of a body put together to form that greater purpose. And there, it is okay for your life to be small — because you were never meant to be great on your own.

Prayingabout this coming semester, what I would like and expect of it, what God has purposed to happen this semester, in what ways can I and will I grow. I think great things, or great growth, will come — which is why it is on my heart to pray for an open and willing heart for this season of life.

Scripture: 2 Corinthias 12:9-10

4 thoughts on “life lately, part 1

  1. Hi Ronja!
    So good to hear from you that you made it safely to New Zealand! I can only imagine the changes you’re experiencing and think you are quite the courageous soul to step out! I hope this semester brings much abundance to your life as your get to know God more richly. Praying for you and look forward to your updates! xo

    Like

  2. Ronja, such beautiful photos – and what an adventure you’re on! It was so good catching up with you.

    My sister gave me a devotional book on “Hind’s Feet” for Christmas – in all these years I have never read this book. I am looking forward to it, as I think I will have much in common with Much-Afraid…

    GOD BLESS!

    Like

    1. Sharon, thank you so much for these kind, encouraging words! :) I certainly am looking forward to reading the book but I am right there with you. I probably have so much in common with Much-Afraid, which is definitely a good reason to read the book and let the Lord transform my heart through the study. :)

      Like

Leave a Reply

